CTO Announced Winners of Third Annual Worldwide Travel Writer, Photographer Awards Contest

07 November 2005 12:00am

The Caribbean Tourism Organization (CTO) announced the winners of its third annual Travel Writer of the Year and Travel Photographer of the Year awards.

Freelance journalist Christopher P. Baker won the North America Travel Writer of the Year award for various coverage of the Caribbean region, including articles in Caribbean Travel & Life and Robb Report, as well as a guide book and coffee table book on Cuba.

Canada-based photographer Michael DeFreitas grabbed top honors as North America Travel Photographer of the Year for his work in various publications including, Caribbean Travel & Life, Diver Magazine, Canadian Traveler, Caribbean Travel Planner, and Delta Sky Magazine.

CTO also announced Theresa Storm the winner, for the second year straight, of the Bill Baxter Canadian Travel Writer of the Year award, which was introduced last year specifically for Canadian writers. Theresa was awarded for her work in various Canadian print and online publications.

This year CTO also presented a Special Merit Award to Beth Harpaz, of the Associated Press, for an article syndicated throughout U.S. newspapers that truly reflected “outstanding objective coverage of the Caribbean region following the hurricanes.”

The various winners received their awards at the Visa-sponsored luncheon during the 28th Annual Caribbean Tourism Conference (CTC-28) in St. Thomas.

The Travel Writer of the Year and Travel Photographer of the Year awards are part of the CTO Worldwide Travel Writer/Photographer Awards Program and was created to reward writers and photographers for their excellence in covering Caribbean tourism.

Back to top